Sexy Hippy


Good life living: Pick wildflowers
August 24, 2007, 5:02 pm
Filed under: Environment, Miscellaneous Hippydom, Tip of the Day

Who needs to spend money at the grocery store on factory flowers?  At this time of year, there are beautiful flowers growing all around us!  The flowers sold in stores lack charm – their beauty is as staged as the cover spreads on magazines.

I now make a habit of stopping whenever I happen upon pretty wildflowers that catch my eye.  I indulge myself by taking in the beauty and wonder around me.  This reminds me that whatever I was hurrying to really isn’t all that important.  What is important is, as they say, stopping and smelling the flowers.  Its an old adage and a good one.  Health, peace and vitality can all be increased by revelling in the gifts Mother Nature has given.       

I feel a sense of satisfaction when I bring the flowers home and arrange them myself.  The flowers remind me of pleasant, quiet times spent outdoors.  And they literally add a breath of fresh air, as they inhale carbon dioxide and exhale oxygen.   

And if all that hasn’t sold you on wildlfowers, I add this: the flower industry is not a rosy one.  Flowers that come from other countries (as I believe most of them do) are farmed by workers who work long, hard hours for very little.  Many of these workers are women, and the work they do takes a hard toll on them.  The crouching positions workers have to stay in while tending the flowers leads to resproductive problems — the abdomen area is warped over time.  Worse yet, pregnant women must keep their condition hidden to avoid being fired and continue working, which means the fetus is developing in very cramped quarters.  Of course, then the women are indeed fired once they are found out.     

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

It’s great to know that you are finding peace and “rejuvenation” from the beauties of nature.

Comment by Penny




Leave a Reply

